Rep. Wasserman Schultz Successfully Urges IRS To Extend Tax Filing Deadline for Broward, Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties affected by Hurricane Katrina

(Washington, DC)  —  Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz urged officials from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to expand tax relief to victims of Hurricane Katrina in the Florida counties of Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe.

On Tuesday, August 30th, the IRS gave taxpayers unable to meet their tax obligations an extension in counties and parishes in Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi.

Rep. Wasserman Schultz recognized that hundreds of people in South Florida suffered damage in Hurricane Katrina and might need extensions on their tax filing deadline.  Rep. Wasserman Schultz contacted the IRS and urged them to extend tax relief to families in need in South Florida.

“I know that many residents in Florida have suffered repeated damage in hurricanes and that Katrina was just another blow to them,” said Rep. Wasserman Schultz.  “I am happy that I was able to work with the IRS and extend tax relief to those in need in South Florida.”

 (Attached below is the official release from the IRS)

IRS Expands Relief Area for Katrina Victims

IR-2005-91, September 2, 2005

WASHINGTON – The Internal Revenue Service today expanded tax relief to victims of Hurricane Katrina in areas of Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama and Florida eligible for public assistance.

On Tuesday, the IRS gave taxpayers unable to meet their tax obligations in 31 Louisiana parishes, 15 Mississippi counties and 3 Alabama counties generally until Oct. 31 to file tax returns and make payments. The IRS will abate interest and any late filing or late payment penalties that would otherwise apply. This relief includes the Sept. 15 due date for estimated taxes and for calendar-year corporate returns with automatic extensions.

Today’s announcement expands the relief to cover an additional 33 parishes in Louisiana, 37 counties in Mississippi, three counties in Alabama and three counties in Florida.

These locations also qualify for the Federal Tax Deposit (FTD) Penalty Waiver Period for employment and excise tax deposits from Aug. 29 – Sept. 23, 2005.

For the hardest-hit areas, the IRS anticipates extending these deadlines even further in the near future.

In addition to taxpayers who reside in the disaster area, the IRS will work with any taxpayer who resides elsewhere but whose books, records or tax practitioner is located in the relief area.

The IRS has also suspended many compliance activities throughout the affected areas. This general suspension will last for a period of at least 60 days.

If people in the affected areas receive IRS notices during this period, they can call the IRS toll-free disaster hotline at 1-866-562-5227 for assistance.

In the aftermath of this natural disaster, the IRS assures individuals, businesses and tax practitioners that it is working aggressively to monitor the situation and resolve other potential tax administration issues as they are identified.